Everything you need to know to watch FIFA 2018 World Cup

It’s been a long journey, but we are just a few hours away from the Soccer Football World Cup 2018 kicking off in Russia on June 14. One thing you can be guaranteed is that there will be shock defeats and new stars to behold during the event, as well as tears of joy and sadness as our teams are knocked out, one-by-one. While there’s no way to tell which team will return as victorious heroes, our guide on where, when, and how to watch all the matches from World Cup 2018 on your phone, tablet, or even your television, will help you catch all the action.

If you aren’t able to watch every second of every game, Google has you covered. The search giant will let you pin live scores to your phone, give you access to tons of stats, and has even provided a dedicated tracker for everything World Cup-related in the freshly updated Google News app. You can also ask the Google Assistant on your phone and Google Home device about live scores and updates. Don’t forget you can get additional updates and team news via FIFA’s official app for the 2018 World Cup, which you can download for Android here, and iOS here.

If you can watch the match, though, and depending which service you subscribe to, you’ll be able to catch the action on apps from DirecTV NOW, Sling TV, YouTube TV, HULU Live, Fox Sports Go that are available from the Google Play Store, Apple’s App Store, as well as a bunch of other platforms, as detailed below:

Play Store Links:

  • DirecTV NOW via Android, iOS (Link), Chromecast, Web Browser, Roku, Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV
  • Sling TV via Android, iOS (Link), Chromecast, Android TV, Apple TV, Roku, Amazon Fire TV, PlayStation 4, Xbox One
  • YouTube TV via Android, Android TV, iOS (Link), Chromecast, Roku, Apple TV, Xbox One, supported LG and Samsung TVs
  • HULU Live via Android, iOS (Link), Roku, Amazon Fire TV, Web Browser, Xbox One, Android TV
  • Fox Sports Go via Android, iOS (Link), Chromecast, Amazon Fire TV, Android TV, Roku, Apple TV, Web Browser,

In the UK you can follow the action via the BBC and ITV channels on your television as well as on your smartphones and tablets via the BBC iPlayer and ITV Hub apps that are available from the Play Store and Apple’s App Store. Don’t forget that if you have a compatible 4K television, the BBC is showing up to 33 matches in glorious 4K HDR via its iPlayer app if you have swapped over to the Beta version, which you can easily do in the app’s Settings menu.

Play Store Links:

  • BBC iPlayer via Android, iOS (Link), Chromecast, Amazon Fire TV, Android, Web Browser, Linux, Xbox, PlayStation,
  • ITV Hub via Android, iOS (Link), Roku, Amazon Fire TV, Web Browser, NOW TV, Xbox, supported LG and Samsung TVs

Timing is key, so it’s important to know when the matches are being played. The 2018 World Cup is being held in Russia, which means there are multiple time zones to consider. Except for three matches held in Kaliningrad (UTC+2), Samara (UTC+4), and Yekaterinburg (UTC+5), all games will be played in the Europe/Moscow UTC+3 time Zone. As a general guide, 2 PM in Moscow translates to 7 AM in ET, 4 AM in PDT, and 12 PM in BST. The earliest match starts at 1 PM local time (UTC+3) which means games will be broadcast from the early hours of 5 AM til 2 PM depending on your time zone in the United States. In the UK, matches begin being aired from late-morning until around 7 PM.

Fixture List:

Thursday, June 14

Russia vs. Saudi Arabia – 11 a.m. ET/10 AM CT/ 8 AM PT/ on FOX, Telemundo, (4 PM BST on ITV)

Friday, June 15

Egypt vs. Uruguay – 8 AM ET/ 7 AM CT/ 5 AM PT/ on FS1, Telemundo, (1 PM BST on BBC)
Morocco vs. Iran – 11 AM ET/ 10 AM CT/ 8 AM PT/ on FOX, Telemundo, (4 PM BST on ITV)
Portugal vs. Spain – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT/ on FOX, Telemundo, (7 PM BST on BBC)

Saturday, June 16

France vs. Australia – 6 AM ET/ 5 AM CT/ 3 AM PT/ on FS1, Telemundo, (11 AM BST on BBC)
Argentina vs. Iceland – 9 AM ET/ 8 AM CT/ 6 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (2 PM BST on ITV)
Peru vs. Denmark – 12 PM ET/ 11 AM CT/ 9 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (5 PM BST on BBC)
Croatia vs. Nigeria – 3 PM ET/ 2 PM CT/ 12PM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (8 PM BST on ITV)

Sunday, June 17

Costa Rica vs. Serbia – 8 AM ET/ 7 AM CT/ 5 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (1 PM BST on ITV)
Germany vs. Mexico – 11 AM ET/ 10 AM CT/ 8 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, 4 PM BST on BBC)
Brazil vs. Switzerland – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM Pt on FS1, Telemundo, (7 PM BST on ITV)

Monday, June 18

Sweden vs. South Korea – 8 AM ET/ 7 AM CT/ 5 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (1 PM BST on ITV)
Belgium vs. Panama – 11 AM ET/ 10 AM CT/ 8 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (4 PM BST on BBC)
Tunisia vs. England – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (7 PM BST on BBC)

Tuesday, June 19

Colombia vs. Japan – 8 AM ET/ 7 AM CT/ 5 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (1 PM BST on BBC)
Poland vs. Senegal – 11 AM ET/ 10 AM CT/ 8 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, 4 PM BST on ITV)
Russia vs. Egypt – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (7 PM BST on BBC)

Wednesday, June 20

Portugal vs. Morocco – 8 AM ET/ 7 AM CT/ 5 AM PT on FS1,Telemundo, (1 PM BST on BBC)
Uruguay vs. Saudi Arabia – 11 AM ET/ 10 AM CT/ 8 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (4PM BST on BBC)
Iran vs. Spain – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (7 PM BST on ITV)

Thursday, June 21

France vs. Peru – 8 AM ET/ 7 AM CT/ 5 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (1 PM BST on ITV)
Denmark vs. Australia – 11 AM ET/ 10 AM CT/ 8 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (4 PM BST on ITV)
Argentina vs. Croatia – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, 7 PM BST on BBC)

Friday, June 22

Brazil vs. Costa Rica – 8 AM ET/ 7 AM CT/ 5 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (1 PM BST on ITV)
Nigeria vs. Iceland – 11 AM ET/ 10 AM CT/ 8 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (4 PM BST on BBC)
Serbia vs. Switzerland – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (7 PM BST on BBC)

Saturday, June 23

Belgium vs. Tunisia – 8 AM ET/ 7 AM CT/ 5 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (1 PM BST on BBC)
Germany vs. Sweden – 11 AM ET/ 10AM CT/ 8 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (4 PM BST on ITV)
South Korea vs. Mexico – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (7 PM BST on ITV)

Sunday, June 24 

England vs. Panama – 8 AM ET/ 7 AM CT/ 5 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (1 PM BST on BBC)
Japan vs. Senegal – 11 AM ET/ 10 AM CT/ 8 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (4 PM BST on BBC)
Poland vs. Colombia – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (7 PM BST on ITV)

Monday, June 25 

Saudi Arabia vs. Egypt – 10 AM ET/ 9 AM CT/ 7 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (3 PM BST on ITV)
Uruguay vs. Russia – 10 AM ET/ 9 AM CT/ 7 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (3 PM BST on ITV)
Iran vs. Portugal – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (7 PM BST on BBC)
Spain vs. Morocco – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM ET/ 11 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (7 PM BST on BBC)

Tuesday, June 26

Australia vs. Peru – 10 AM ET/ 9 AM CT/ 7 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (3 PM BST on ITV)
Denmark vs. France – 10 AM ET/ 9 AM CT/ 7 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (3 PM BST on ITV)
Iceland vs. Croatia – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (7 PM BST on BBC)
Nigeria vs Argentina – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (7 PM BST on BBC)

Wednesday, June 27

South Korea vs. Germany – 10 AM ET/ 9 AM CT/ 7 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (3PM BST on BBC)
Mexico vs. Sweden – 10 AM ET/ 9 AM CT/ 7 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (3 PM BST on BBC)
Switzerland vs. Costa Rica – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (7 PM BST on ITV)
Serbia vs. Brazil – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (7 PM BST on ITV)

Thursday, June 28

Japan vs. Poland – 10 AM ET/ 9 AM CT/ 7 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (3 PM BST on BBC)
Senegal vs. Colombia – 10 AM ET/ 9 AM CT/ 7 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (3 PM BST on BBC)
England vs. Belgium – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, 7 PM BST on ITV)
Panama vs. Tunisia – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FS1,Telemundo, (7 PM BST on ITV)

Saturday, June 30

Round of 16 – (Group C winner vs. Group D runner-up), 10 AM ET/ 9 AM CT/ 7 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (3 PM BST)
Round of 16 – (Group A winner vs. Group B runner-up), 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (7 PM BST)

Sunday, July 1

Round of 16 – (Group B winner vs. Group A runner-up), 10 AM ET/ 9 AM CT/ 7 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (3 PM BST)
Round of 16 – (Group D winner vs. Group C runner-up, 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (7 PM BST)

Monday, July 2

Round of 16 – (Group E winner vs. Group F runner-up), 10 AM ET 9 AM CT/ 7 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (3 PM BST)
Round of 16 – (Group G winner vs. Group H runner-up), 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (7 PM BST)

Tuesday, July 3

Round of 16 – (Group F winner vs. Group E runner-up), 10 AM ET/ 9 AM CT/ 7 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (3 PM BST Channel TBD)
Round of 16 – (Group H winner vs. Group G runner-up), 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (7 PM BST Channel TBD)

Friday, July 6

Quarterfinal – 10 AM ET/ 9 AM CT/ 7 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (3 PM BST Channel TBD)
Quarterfinal – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FS1, Telemundo, (7 PM BST Channel TBD)

Saturday, July 7

Quarterfinal – 10 AM ET/ 9 AM CT/ 7 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (3 PM BST Channel TBD)
Quarterfinal – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (7 PM BST Channel TBD)

Tuesday, July 10

Semifinal – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (7 PM BST Channel TBD)

Wednesday, July 11

Semifinal – 2 PM ET/ 1 PM CT/ 11 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (7 PM BST Channel TBD),

Saturday, July 14

Third-place match – 10 AM ET/ 9 AM CT/ 7 AM PT on FOX, Telemundo, (3 PM Channel TBD )

Sunday, July 15 (World Cup Final)

France v Croatia  – 11 AM ET/ 10 AM CT/ 8 AM PT  on FOX, Telemundo, 4 PM BST Channel TBD)

As an added bonus if you are in the UK, you can download a wall chart for the World Cup 2018 from the BBC to print at home so that you can keep track of all the results. The wall chart is available in full color or monochrome and you can grab the download from here.

Now all that remains to be done is to stock up on your favorite snacks (or breakfasts perhaps?) and beverages and hope that Messi, Ronaldo, and Neymar are in the mood to set the World Cup alight with their mesmerizing skills. Or, if you are an England supporter such as myself, wait to be knocked out on penalties. Whatever happens, it’s going to be quite the spectacle, and now there is no excuse to miss a moment.

Google adds tons of FIFA World Cup stats and features


About the Author: Peter Holden

He's been an Android fan ever since owning an HTC Hero, with the Dell Streak being his first phablet. He currently carries a Pixel 2 XL, Huawei P20 Pro, and a Huawei MediaPad M5 (8.4) in his pockets and thinks nothing of lugging a 17-inch laptop around in his backpack. When not immersed in the world of Android and gadgets, he's an avid sports fan, and like all South Africans, he loves a good Braai (BBQ).