Android Forums

Go Back   These FORUMS ARE DISABLED!! OUR NEW FORUMS ARE AT http://androidforum.com/ > Google Android > Android Hardware
Connect with Facebook

Click Here To Register!
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2008, 07:05 AM   #1
paranoid android
 
Andor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 702
Friends: 9
Blog Entries: 1
View Andor's Profile   View Andor's Photo Album   View Andor's Blog   View Social Groups
Makers of the zzzPhone have announced their latest handset model now supports the Android platform - which in effect makes this the second Android phone

The company are selling the base model (unlocked) for $119, with the ability to add Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, pico-projectors, and a television tuner

The website is:
http://zzzphone.com/index.php

ZzzPhone now with Android-android.jpg

Their website is kinda crappy, and that'll surely put a lot of people off buying a handset.. but i dunno im pretty tempted to give one a go.

Could be fun, right? What do you guys think?
Andor is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in Technorati
Old 11-25-2008, 07:16 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
enjoipanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 14
Friends: 0
View enjoipanda's Profile   View enjoipanda's Photo Album   View enjoipanda's Blog   View Social Groups
looks like a chunk of poop...
enjoipanda is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in Technorati
Old 11-25-2008, 10:46 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Friends: 0
View davidlt's Profile   View davidlt's Photo Album   View davidlt's Blog   View Social Groups
As I can see from results in YouTube they have been making phones for quite some time and there is even a one review in YouTube, but the about the older phone. It looks promising, I wrote them e-mail asking a few questions about the zzzPhone and a few suggestions. It would be great to get review even of the basic model, but I don't think that much people going to try it. We will see...
davidlt is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in Technorati
Old 11-26-2008, 06:00 AM   #4
paranoid android
 
Andor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 702
Friends: 9
Blog Entries: 1
View Andor's Profile   View Andor's Photo Album   View Andor's Blog   View Social Groups
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidlt View Post
As I can see from results in YouTube they have been making phones for quite some time and there is even a one review in YouTube, but the about the older phone. It looks promising, I wrote them e-mail asking a few questions about the zzzPhone and a few suggestions. It would be great to get review even of the basic model, but I don't think that much people going to try it. We will see...
Yeah they're not a scam company, even though their lame website might suggest something along those lines.

They did the same thing with the iPhone.

I quite like these guys, battling away in this industry
Andor is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in Technorati
Old 11-27-2008, 12:28 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Friends: 0
View davidlt's Profile   View davidlt's Photo Album   View davidlt's Blog   View Social Groups
It looks that there is going to be a review of this phone soon:
http://www.crunchgear.com/2008/11/24...eal-this-time/

And there is even zzzPhone community
http://zzzphone.org/
davidlt is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in Technorati
Old 12-03-2008, 12:21 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Friends: 0
View vinsai's Profile   View vinsai's Photo Album   View vinsai's Blog   View Social Groups
I'm really interested, but I'm having trouble extracting info from their crappy website. Can anyone share more info? Has anyone got one in their hands and can share their experiences? It's still smells a little...funny. I've seen them denounced as frauds on other blogs, but note the dates, things have had time to change since then.


Some interesting comments in the comment boards here
http://www.gearlog.com/2008/02/zzzph...stommade_c.php

and here
http://www.crunchgear.com/2008/10/07...ets-aaandroid/

a little more info on the handset
http://teentechblog.com/2008/05/11/z...-mobile-phone/

I'd really like to hear from anyone who has gotten one and what they think about it, please tell us if you have.

Last edited by vinsai; 12-03-2008 at 12:36 AM..
vinsai is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in Technorati
Old 01-14-2009, 09:39 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Friends: 0
View jmhalder's Profile   View jmhalder's Photo Album   View jmhalder's Blog   View Social Groups
i've been scouring the internet looking for info about zzzPhone's, looks like they've been scamming people for about a year, and i've yet to actually see a review of the OLD designed phone that runs "windows mobile or equivalent", and definately havent seen any video or reviews about the new design running google android. you'll notice that they dont even have a picture of the device on their site ACTUALLY running the android OS, rather its just pictures that say "google android" photochopped ontop. also, they would have to be using chipsets from manufacturers that are part of the OHA (if they wanted drivers for audio/radio/BT/touchscreen/keyboard/etc...) they dont list what chipsets its using, cause they are keeping things as vague as possible... i have no doubt that its a scam.
jmhalder is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in Technorati
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes




Unlocked G1 Phones | Buy T-Mobile G1 | Google Phone

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2 ©2009, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright (c) 2012 TalkAndroid.com. All rights reserved.