Exciting news from Google+ and YouTube today. A very controversial feature, forcing YouTube accounts to use Google+, will slowly be taken away. Google says they got certain aspects right, but will need to rethink many parts of it. Expect changes within the coming months.
“When we launched Google+, we set out to help people discover, share and connect across Google like they do in real life. While we got certain things right, we made a few choices that, in hindsight, we’ve needed to rethink. So over the next few months, we’re going to be making some important changes.”
Starting today comments made on YouTube will now only be seen on YouTube and will not appear on Google+ and vice-versa.
In a few more weeks, YouTube will almost totally separate from Google+. Users no longer need a Google+ profile to upload, comment, or create a YouTube channel. Existing channels can keep everything the same as it is now or have the option to remove your Google+ profile in the coming months. However do not remove it now or it will delete your entire YouTube channel.
“This one’s further off. In the coming weeks, YouTube will no longer require a Google+ profile when you want to upload, comment, or create a channel. If you’re happy with everything as it is now, then just keep on keepin’ on. If you want to remove your Google+ profile, you’ll be able to do this in the coming months, but do not do it now or you’ll delete your YouTube channel (no bueno).”
In other Google+ news, they are planning to make Google+ more focused and removed features that aren’t essential to your Google+ experience. For example Google+ Photos have been moved into the new Google Photos app instead. Other things like putting location sharing into Hangouts and other apps where it belongs.