Android’s factory reset option might not delete everything


Avast, one of the leaders in security software, has what might be bad news for those of you looking to sell or trade in your old Android smartphone. It is always recommended that you run Android’s factory data reset option before getting rid of your phone, which is supposed to wipe all data and settings. Unfortunately that might not be the case.

Avast purchased 20 Android smartphones from eBay. They were able to recover more than 40,000 photos (250 were nude male selfies), 750 emails and text messages, 250 contacts, the identities of four of the previous phone owners, and one completed loan application. According to Jude McColgan, Avast mobile division president, the factory reset only cleans your phone “at the application layer.”

Now before you go thinking that Avast used some sort of trickery, apparently that wasn’t the case. McColgan said the team used “fairly generic, publicly available,” off-the-shelf digital forensics software such as a drive-imaging program called FTK Imager.

Of course Avast is in the business of making money so you know they are going to offer a solution that uses one of their products, and they did. Their report states that their Android security app offers a deletion tool. Interestingly enough, it might not be the complete answer. They only said that it does a better job than Android’s factory reset option. Does that mean that you will still have traces of data even after using Avast’s application? Most likely, but I guess there will be less data available to anyone snooping.

Does this make you more leery to sell your next phone on eBay or Craigslist?

source: CNet

About the Author: Robert Nazarian

Robert lives in upstate New York where he was born and raised. Technology was always his passion. His first computer was a Radio Shack TRS80 Color that used a cassette tape to save programs, and his first laptop was a Toshiba T1200FB that sported a CGA greyscale screen and two 720kb floppy drives (no hardrive). From the early 90’s through late 2011, he only owned Motorola phones starting with the MircroTAC all the way through to the Droid X. He broke that streak when he bought the Galaxy Nexus. Now he's sporting a Galaxy Note 4, and absolutely loves it. He has a wonderful wife and a 6 year old son. In his free time he enjoys sports, movies, TV, working out, and trying to keep up with the rapid fast world of technology.

  • Timothy Anderson

    This is a major issue for Google…. they should have done a low level format to wipe it … or at least given that option to users. It does not matter how long it takes. If you are doing this, it is because you want your old data erased permanently.

  • John Grabb

    It makes me ALOT more Leary to buy and android phone again. Especially if I am too afraid to sell it. Google/Android(I repeat) OS is massively insecure and the android fanboys just refuse to relent to this fact!

  • mike

    same topic over at tomshardware has a link to suggest how to combat…turning on encrypition on your phone, letting it do it’s magic, then doing a factory reset. iOS is encrypted anyway and when doing a factory reset it erases the key required. turning on encryption on your android phone will essentially do the same thing…or so the article states.

  • Tubsy

    I don’t sell those kinds of devices for this particular reason.

  • sean

    I thought this was fairly known. When you ‘factory reset’ and flash a new ROM, all of your pics are still on your device. I guess it’s a little misleading to those that aren’t aware of exactly what factory reset does however.